What are some important qualities of a good supervisor (boss)? Use specific details and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

A good supervisor supervises his staffs in an indisputable way. He/she uses different qualities in many different kinds of situations. He/she goes to Mount Everest or to Mariana Trench in order to get his job done.

He/she is strict, tough but is amendable. He/she gives orders and expects that his team mates shall finish the job but tolerates some degree of imperfection. For example, a conversion between a boss and a worker is as follows – Boss:” Have you completed fixing the motor?” Worker:” Yes Boss. But….” Boss:” But What?” Worker:” It got dirty after a kid threw mud on it.” Boss:” Well! That’s nothing. Clean it with water and the job’s done” Worker:” Right away boss!” The worker got happy because he wasn't admonished for his absence near the motor. If the boss had scolded him then he would become a rigid perfectionist and a micro-manager. Sometimes it is better to look at the big picture rather than simply bossing around.

Macro-Management is an important skill that is required to keep fellow workers in harmony. It is simply sufficient enough for a boss to ensure that all the staffs do their job in the allotted time. This is the main idea behind macro-management. In the same example aforementioned – Boss wanted to make 100 motors for an auto-mobile company, and he got all 100 on time, but 20 motors were defective. If he had scrutinized the workers for almost every small mistake, then workers would lose their morale and would be able to make only 50 “perfect” motors in the allotted time. The boss not only loses 20 imperfect motors, but also loses 30 perfect motors. Some nuts and bolts are required by the boss too.

A supervisor should imagine himself in the position of a worker before ordering things. He/she should question themselves – “If I were a worker, would I be able to complete the job?” This comes from the experience of the boss being a worker previously. This is the exact reason why companies ask for experience in people’s CV. Similarly a boss needs to be punctual before expecting others to be punctual. Or else, his workers would take advantage of him, by not only coming late but also by procrastinating each and every thing. A worker doesn't expect his boss to be a role-model or a supreme-being.

A boss isn't required to possess more qualification or knowledge than his workers. But some basic knowledge about the subject becomes a necessity. An example to this situation can be drawn from the present-day governments. A prime minister or a president may not have more qualification than his bureaucrats. Yet at the end of the day, it is the prime-minister or the president who governs them all.

These are some important qualities prerequisite for being a good boss. These qualities are invaluable as they can’t be learnt in a single day. For this one and only reason, bosses are paid more when compared to the workers.