When people grow up, they have to choose between living independently as soon as possible or living with their families for a longer time. Which one do you prefer and why?

When a person reaches adulthood, he comes to face one of the most important decisions in life: whether to start living on his own right away, or continue staying with his family for a few more years. Despite the huge prejudice that a grown-up man living with parents is useless and shameful, I personally think that it is a wise choice not to move out immediately. My firm belief is due to the fact that at a young age, a person still lacks of money and experience to begin a new life by himself.

Financial problem is the first and foremost difference at the turning point of life. During childhood and teenage years, our life was just about school and friends, but had nothing to do with money. However, when we grow up, money turns out to be the driving force of every aspect of life, and the economic burden begins to weigh on the shoulders of whom live alone. My experience is a compelling example of this. I used to spend a lot of time hanging out with peers in luxurious coffee shops when I was in high school. Everything changes since I studied abroad and started working part-time to pay daily cost. I have to work 4 hours per day, 7 days a week, and gets home around 1 o’clock in the morning. Though I feel exhausted, I do not have any other choice but work for my living.

Lack of experiences is also a reason why I think it is too early for an 18 – year – old person to start off a new chapter of life. Living alone requires us to handle all trouble on our own, from cooking to cleaning, from preventing pregnancy to dealing with depression. Imagine a naïve girl has just left parents’ loving arms and encountered a bad guy, in the moment of being betrayed, she could make any foolish decision that would cost a high price in the future. While it is indisputable that we all end up tackle our tragedy by ourselves, I believe the lost and regret can be reduced by talking to our parents so that we never have to face it alone. At the beginning of adulthood, parents’ experiences and advice are definitely great channels to help us prepare for our next period of life – when we are ready to be independent.

In light of the reasons above, I am of the opinion that we should live with family until we gain enough budget and knowledge to survive on our own two feet.