When people move to another country, some of them decide to follow the customs of the new country. Others prefer to keep their own customs. Compare these two choices. Which one do you prefer? Support your answer with specific details.

When it comes to the issue the importance of following customs in the new country, some people agree with this idea and think that it has several advantages. However, others have the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the former point carries more weight. I take this position on account for the following reasons.

To illustrate my position, let us to take a look on why some people disagree with idea of following new customs. People who have a strong religious background that are different form that of in the new country, stick to their own religious beliefs. Older people are accustomed with their own life style and this would difficult for them to accept new an idea and a culture. Some values in the Western country contradict Eastern countries, such as the use of drug, alcohol, or certain behavior of young people.

Although I admit that it is not necessarily to change all our customs, I strongly believe that the advantages of adapting with new culture are apparent. The most important advantage is that you can learn about new environment and its people, which help you to communicate them easily. In addition, you can be a real member of the new society as much as possible. I think that there is not a better example than myself when I was studying the abroad. At that time, I was living with my life style, which was different from that of there. So, it was quite normal that I could not have strong relationship with other students, because they hardly accept a person with different customs. I always complained of living in the new country and feel lonely and isolated. Eventually, I came back my home country before graduation at the university and without any achievement in academic areas. However, the scenario could be different if I could to adapt with the new environment.

Apart from points I made above, we have to abide some customs in new country, because they are written into law. I think that a small instance can give some light on this matter. In Singapore, for several decades the law had banned the consumption chewing gums. Hence, when you travel Singapore you have to respect this law, because violation it would bring a punishment for you.

Taking into account all of these factors, we may reach the conclusion that we should follow new customs in new country as much as possible in order to adapt with new condition. Admittedly, we need change their mind to accept a new culture, which always is difficult, while for being successful we should do it.