When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

I disagree with the statement that working in groups will allow students to learn more effectively than if they work alone on projects. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, in a group, each student will not have an equal opportunity to participate in the project or the activity. As a result, they will not acquire the intended knowledge or training after the completion of the assignment. To clarify, some people might be overly enthusiastic about the topic and decide to do everything by themselves assuming they are doing everyone a favor. My own experience is a compelling example on what I mean. When I was in college, I was assigned, with other friends, a presentation on a specific subject. One of my friends started researching and collecting the needed information online then almost finished all the preparation without giving a heads up for the other group members. Therefore, we were not able to take part in this task and thus I learned nothing from this project. Even worse, our final test had some questions about the material in this project and I was not able to answer any of them. Had I worked by myself on this project, I would have had to look up the material by myself and I would have been well-informed and well-prepared for the exams.

Secondly, working in a group is not as motivating as working by oneself. To illustrate, some people who work hard will not get enough acknowledgement for their efforts as the credit will go for the entire group. other people, however, who do not work as hard will get credit that they do not deserve. Consequently, group members will not have enough incentives to do their best since there is no measure for individual contributions. For instance, in my previous example, some of my colleagues were okay with contributing nothing to the project and they were completely comfortable with that. In the end, they got credit for things that they did not accomplish.

In conclusion, I oppose the idea that working in a group is better for students. This is because some students might be left behind. Also, groups does not encourage students to work as hard as when they work on their own.