Which do you prefer, to buy new technological devices immediately after they become available or to wait till many people have adopted (=accepted and started to use) them?

Thanks to the science developers’ endless efforts, many techniques are updated in years or even in months. New generations keep showing up to the mass and some of them can cause a new trend for people to follow. Not changing old devices by the latest ones maybe thought out-of-date. However, I do not think this is necessary and can benefit users.

First of all, there are some inevitable drawbacks in the newest tools at the beginning. In order to faster than competitors, many companies tend to publicize their new product in hurry, sometimes before the final testing. In that case, the newest technological device may own some little flaws, such as unstable recharging function, brittle screens and stumble operation. Although they are just small problems, users’ experience may become bad. The newest generation is always not the best one, so people do not need to pursue them.

In addition, it takes time for other fields and companies to react to the latest product. As we all know, a new technological device should have suitable various applications to operate. If this device is really advanced, and different from its ancestors, most of the old applications cannot be used in it. Software and phone application companies also need time to develop a new product for catching up the new trend, while the users cannot make full use of this fashionable thing. So customers who wait for a while can really have fun with it.

Last but not least, people usually spend a prohibitive price for purchasing the latest technological devices. Take the latest product of Apple, iPhone X, as an example. The price of this small device is over 10,000RMB in China, which is equal to 8-week average salary in my hometown. Some big fans save money, stop hanging out with friends, give up new clothes and cease travelling plans, just for buying a new cell phone. In contrast, as a student, I would prefer to wait for the price decreasing by thousands RMB in several months.

In conclusion, buying the most advanced technological devices is unnecessary an costly. Most of the new products actually have few big change from the last one. People can be more patient and wait till the majority have adopted them.