Which way do you think is the best for a student to make new friends. a. joining a sports team, b. participate in community activities, c. traveling.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">When you first entered the university, you will find various ways to better integrate into the new life. Personally speaking, doing sports is the best way among the three options to make more and better friends.

To begin with, joining sports teams would be a good choice, simply because it could create an atmosphere to meet different people with the same interests. Let me take how I met my best university friend Oliver as a good example. Frankly speaking, I had known Oliver much earlier before we finally became good friends. What I knew about him was that he was an entirely different person from me. One day, when we both applied to join the basketball team, we had our first conversion. It was till then that I realized that we actually shared so much in common. For instance, we both liked the same basketball star, and when we played the game, we could cooperate like twins. We spent much time training together, and also deepened the understanding of each other. Had I not attended the sports team, I would have not known Oliver so well and we could have still been strangers.

Speaking from the Chinese perspective, I am not in favor of the idea of making more friends by attending community activities, simply because those attendants are normally seniors, with whom I, as a young college student, seldom share common topics, in some Chinese communities where communal get-togethers have become a routine schedule. Last time, my friend Oliver went to attend a community activity out of curiosity, and it turned out to be a nightmare. He had expected to meet some friends at his age but disappointedly, he could talk to nobody but old men. The old mainly talked about the marriage issues of the grandchildren, where to have the next square dance celebration and which supermarket to take discounts. Oliver found it difficult to fit into these topics, and he was also not willing to. He swore that he would not go there again.

As for the traveling option, although there are so many good reasons to believe that it is great since people could always meet interesting peers and funny things on the way, it is not the best choice for me, simply because I cannot easily prepare a few days off and enough money to spend. On one hand, as I am sitting here taking the exam, it is easy to conclude that I am a student. I do not see any chance for me to get several days away from my heavy daily study. On the other hand, I also did some calculations. If people wish to enjoy a happy holiday, they have to prepare at least 3000 dollars for a 7-day trip. I checked my bank account and decided to postpone my traveling dream to my later life stage.

Overall, doing sports would be a great way to develop friendships and integrate into a new college study life.</span><br>