You may choose between two professors who will be teaching a course that you must take at your university. If the following statements are the only information available to you about the differences between the two professors, which professor would you choose? Why?

-A professor who proves to be very popular in students’ evaluations

-A professor who was recently given an award for outstanding research

Deciding which course to attend is indispensable for a college student, and the course you choose would directly affect your learning experience of the whole semester. While some students prefer a professor with fabulous awards in relevant fields since these achievements can illustrate that this tutor is the specialist in his area and competent enough to guide others. From my perspective of view, I would attend the most popular one, simply because this supervisor can flexibly control the teaching process and pay more attention to communicate with individuals.

For one, the class offered by a popular professor can be more interesting rather than fixed or rigid, and it is easier for students to be attracted and concentrated. Owing to several years of teaching experience, this kind of lecturer can expertly manipulate the lecturing process, such as when to introduce a new concept, when to give some vivid examples to illustrate an abstract theory, and when to tell a humorous story in order to have a short break. These mini-skills lead students to learn effectively and efficiently, and help students save a lot of precious time, which saved could be used to do something meaningful, such as volunteering, personal interests or just recreation form heavy study stress. This kind of teacher is always most welcomed by students, even though they are just ordinary teachers without any glorious titles, since students feel enjoyable in the progress of learning.

For another, the popular professors are usually more accessible and patient to answer students’ problems, while an outstanding scholar might be quite busy and arrogant. Have you ever been rejected when you asked for an extra explanation simply because he had to prepare for the upcoming academic conference? Have you ever been laughed at when you consulted a basic term simply because he thought it was stupid to answer such common sense? If so, you might lose your motive power and not willing to participate in the lecture. However, things are quite different when you face a popular professor since he has taught thousands of various students and knew diverse solutions to different difficulties. Most importantly, the popular lecturer enjoys listening to students and answering their problems.

Admittedly, the one with outstanding awards must be qualified for academic research, and he can offer professional opinions on his fields and specific suggestions to those who are engaging in his research. However, most students coming to lectures aim at learning new and basic principles instead of purchasing new cutting edges, so it is not the capacity of how to publish revolutionary papers but how to make students understand smoothly that values most. One of my personal experiences could be cited here as a proper example. I once took a class with a well-known scholar, since I believed he would help me aware of the newest technology, however, the fact was, I always had difficulty in following his logic. As a result, I had to spend extra time and energy reviewing handouts after class, which turned out to an awful memory.

Hence, although outstanding awards might be attractive by some means, I would still choose a popular professor for his experience and easy-going.