You may choose between two professors who will be teaching a course that you must take at your university. If the following statements are the only information available to you about the differences between the two professors, which professor would you choose? Why?

-A professor who proves to be very popular in students’ evaluations

-A professor who was recently given an award for outstanding research

With taking courses being a crucial part of daily life of college students, sometimes it would be quite difficult to choose with limited information from two professors who will be teaching a required course. Given that a professor is only known for his positive evaluations from students while another is only known for his recent academic achievement, I reckon that the former would be a better choice for the class.

First of all, it is more possible for teachers with positive feedbacks from students to give more interesting lectures than those who are known for academic success since much information can be acquired from the students' evaluation. For example, teachers those are popular tend to exploit beyond the textbook, encourage free discussions in class, and leave more creative assignments. All these things make a class interesting, and I will be more willing be involved in it. As a result, I can certainly learn more from the class. On the contrary, one can barely assume whether an academically accomplished professor will provide these advantages and attending a class given by this professor thus bears more risks.

Additionally, it is reasonable to assume that professors popular among students can better focus on important points in required courses than professors popular in scientific society. In fact, scientific research doesn't resemble teaching a required class at all. A professor recently awarded for academic accomplishments can definitely offer excellent guidance when a student is seeking to begin his or her scientific research career. However, constant exposure to scientific research might contribute to the professor being too abstractive or demanding more than what a required course is meant for. On the other hand, favorable evaluations of a professor indicate than he or she has taught the course for a long time and must be familiar with the core points. Therefore, I am not inclined to choose a teacher who is renowned for academic success.

Finally, the required courses are usually pretty general, especially for an undergraduate student like me, while the professor recently awarded might only specialize in a small section of the course. In light of it, chances are that this professor gives several brilliant lectures on some topics but quality of other lectures is merely moderate. This situation is less possible if a teacher is well evaluated. Take my own major as an example. Cell biology is one of my required course and I can choose from several teachers. Due to the reason mentioned above, I don’t want to choose a teacher who specializes is animal biology and cares little about botanical biology. Instead, I would prefer a teacher who is popular among students, because he or she presumably does equally well on both parts.

In conclusion, I would choose a teacher with good evaluations rather than a teacher known for research achievements because the former is more suitable for required courses.