Your teacher assigns a project to you, and you can select the members to work with.

-choose the members who think and work in similar ways

-choose the members who have totally different ideas

Which would you think is more effective to work with?

With teamwork been a crucial part in both work and study nowadays, it has been widely debated which kind of teammates is better to work with. If a project is assigned, while some argues that they prefer collaborating with those who have totally different ideas, I reckon, however, it would be better to cooperate with the teammates who think and work in similar ways.

First of all, working with similar people can avoid unnecessary arguments, thus promoting efficiency. Admittedly, appropriate arguments are rewarding, since they might trigger new thoughts and creative ideas. Despite these potential benefits, working with people of different ideas inevitably makes the whole team take the risks of discussing too much time to finish the assignment in time. For example, once I had a homework to conduct a survey about the purchasing power of young people. To my disappointment, my team spent almost half of the given time struggling to select a location to do the survey, which, in my opinion, was merely trifle details worth little attention and could be skipped if working with people of similar thoughts.

Moreover, even if the unnecessary arguments mentioned above reach a conclusion, some members of the team must be disappointed since their opinions are not taken into consideration. Under this circumstance, it is unrealistic to count on all of the numbers to do their best to cover their due parts. As a result, the outcome might not be so satisfying. That everyone in a team is crucial is beyond any doubt. No matter what the unsatisfied members are responsible, their flaws or carelessness make a big difference. Suppose they are assigned to look for useful information online. Given that important information is omitted, the whole mission might be compromised.

Finally, mistakes are common in teamwork, even in the team consisting of people with similar thoughts. However, mistakes may be more destructive in the team composed of people with different thoughts. Imagine a mission not going smoothly as planned, those whose ideas were ignored at the very beginning would make a lot of complaints. Chances are that they might claim that it would be better if their original suggestions were considered. These sorts of complaints are extremely detrimental, since they would spark a situation where members in the team don’t trust one another. On the contrary, if the team is made up of people of similar thoughts, they would possibly stand together firmly and strive to address the problem.

To sum up, collaborating with people of different thoughts and ideas put the whole team in potential risks throughout the collaboration. In light of it, it won’t help make the teamwork more effective.