Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

The use of devices that can be connected to the internet, like computers, phones and ipads, should be prohibited from the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of technology, internet becomes increasingly pervasive, especially in teenagers’ daily lives. Therefore, it has been widely debated whether devices that can be connected to the internet should be allowed in the classroom. While some argue that bringing these things into the classroom can make it easier for students to look for online information, I reckon, however, that they actually should be prohibited due to drawbacks in several aspects.

First of all, the internet is an awful distraction for classroom. It is hard for almost all students to refrain from doing something irrelevant with the ongoing courses even if they are not intended to do so when bring those devices into the classroom, swearing to themselves that only Wikipedia would be used. However, it is not what always happens. For example, a student finishes googles something confusing with his or her iPad and by far nothing is wrong. Yet before the iPad is put back to the drawer, it suddenly occurred to the student that the email box hasn’t been checked that day. As a result, maybe 10 minutes would have passed before the student refocuses on the class. Such distraction is really detrimental to the students’ development.

The second drawback is that teacher might also be influenced by those devices. It is actually very clear to see from the teaching table what the students are doing. If finding that quite a few students are playing their electronic devices when there is no need of the internet, the teacher must be very angry, or very upset at least, thinking that the lecture must be too boring to draw the students the attention. As a result, the teacher might proceed with a bad mood, which certainly exerts unfavorable effects on the course. What’s worse, there are still other students who are not distracted by the devices with the internet. Still, they are influenced indirectly due to the low spirit of the teacher. Thus, these devices should really be prohibited from the classroom.

Finally, some would argue that these devices facilitate with note-taking, since typing is much faster than writing. In my opinion, however, taking note by hand is a very good preparation for reviewing the courses because the notes took in class are comparatively messy and need further refining. It is the process of rearranging the notes that help with the digestion of knowledge. Additionally, students can even type the notes on computers or ipads after the class if they like, which not only avoids the distraction but also contributes to a reviewed and organized notes. In light of this advantage of hand-writing note, the smart devices are further proved useless in class.

Based on discussions above, it is reasonable to draw the conclusion that devices that can be connected to the internet should be banned from the classroom since they have possible distracting effects and subsequent bad influences and they are not suggested to be used as note-taking tools.