Do you agree that it is better to work for business owned by someone else than to work for the business of one‘s own family

Finding a proper job is crucial for an individual’s career, even for those whose family has its own businesses. It has been widely debated whether working for business owned by someone else or working for family business is better for future development. While some argue that working for one’s own family is easier, I reckon, however, that it would be better to work for other businesses.

First of all, working for family business sparks too much pressure, which is harmful for the individual development. Suppose that we enter the business owned by our own family, since it is impractical that other workers in the business don’t know that we are somehow connected to the management, they probably think that we take the advantage of this relationship and obtain more than we deserve to. It is where the pressure appears,which affects our efficiency and subsequently causes more criticisms. On the contrary, all these won’t happen if we work for other businesses. We can cooperate with colleagues in harmony and fairly compete with them yet no one cast doubt on us. As a result, we will be burdened with less pressure compared to working for the family business.

Moreover, working for others’ businesses provides more possibilities. Instead of being confined in the field and handling the same work throughout the whole career in the family business, we will exploit more in other businesses. Instead of completing countless tasks without knowing whether or not we love the job given by family businesses, we might find a more attractive field that we are more willing to be devoted to. For example, a friend of mine firstly worked in a glass factory owned by his uncle, who offered him a job to supervise the cutting process. His job was secured but he gradually felt bored about the job and left the factory. Later, he met someone who persuaded him into becoming a cook at a restaurant. It didn’t take long before he realized that it was a more interesting career and he is delighted to have quit the previous job.

Admittedly, working in the business owned by others has some shortcomings. For instance, we might not get as secured a job as in the family business and whatever we do will be less familiar to us because we haven’t been exposed to it since childhood. However, if viewed from a different perspective, these disadvantages turned out to be beneficial because they will promote our competitiveness. In other words, working for others’ business is not as disadvantageous as it appears to be.

In conclusion, it’s better to work in the business owned by others than that owned by one’s family because the former presents several advantages such as avoidance of unfair criticism, diverse possibilities, and an opportunity to get over harsh situations.