Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past people ate food that was better for their health than they do today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

With food being closely related to the health of every individual, much comparison has been made concerning the food eaten in the past and that eaten today. While some argue that people ate healthier food in the past because fast food was less popular at that time, I reckon, however, that people eat healthier food today.

First of all, people nowadays are equipped with more knowledge to choose the healthier food. At the time when computer and the Internet were not as pervasive as today, people only objected the food that appeared to be rotten. However, there is more delicate knowledge to decide whether a kind of food can be eaten than merely judging from the outside. For example, seafood can't be eaten together with alcoholic beverage, especially beer. Such knowledge hasn't been widely known until recently. Accordingly, people nowadays are able to make much wiser decisions considering food and better food choices lead to better health.

Moreover, with the development of economy, people care more about their health. Therefore, people aren't inclined to eat expired food as they tended to do before. For example, my mother used to tell me about her childhood when she had to eat pieces of bread that had been left in the house for a long time because her parents had bought too many of it when they were cheaper. Contrary to the past, people nowadays buy proper amount of food and even though some food is expired occasionally, they won't eat it due to healthy concerns. Thus, people eat healthier food today than in the past.

Finally, people can buy healthier food today because of the stress laid on environmental protection. In the past few years, several policies have been established to strictly constrain the waste emission of factories and plants. Since the pollution was much more serious in the past, it was more possible that crops got contaminated with water waste. As a result, people in the past ate more food with harmful chemicals such as heavy metals. Instead of being exposed to such danger, people nowadays had little chance to eat polluted food, thus assuring a better health condition.

In conclusion, people eat healthier food than they did in the past due to more nutritional knowledge, economic development and environmental protection.