Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past people ate food that was better for their health than they do today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one cast doubt on the importance of food in people's health. That is why scholars have always been trying to find the best diet for people. In this regard, there is a debate among scholars on whether consuming healthy food among people has decreased or not. In my opinion, people eat foods that are less healthy in comparison with before. That is due to the proliferation of fast food restaurants and a reduction in mothers' cooking roles at home. My reasons are elucidated in detail hereunder.

First of all, the incredible growth in the number of fast food restaurants has changed people's food habits. Also, the fact that most of the fast foods are unhealthy is undeniable. In other words, fast foods are so delicious despite their lack of nutritional value. Therefore, the accessibility of these delicious food leads people to eat them more than before. For example. When I was a child, there was only a fast food restaurant in our city that was far from our home. Whereas, today, there are ten fast food restaurants around our home. I can arrive at a restaurant just five minutes walking. I go to these restaurants three times a week on average. This eating habit made me sick. Not only is my cholesterol higher than its standard but also I usually have a stomach ache.

As the second reason, mothers in the past cooked more, and they obviously cared about their families' health. While, today, women and especially mothers have more presence in society in comparison with before. Therefore, they don't have enough time for cooking. My personal experience illustrates this issue quite well. When I was a child, my mother was unemployed. Cooking at home filled his time during the day. She always tried to cook food with high nutritional value for us. Today, women's idea has changed. For instance, my wife works for a company, and our time working out of the home is almost the same. Hence, she doesn't have enough time for cooking for our son, and he often eats his food in restaurants. As a result, he has diabetes at ten years old. If my wife had not worked out of the home, my son would have been healthy.

To sum up, the accessibility to fast food restaurants due to their proliferation has increased. Also, today, mothers like fathers work out of the home, and they do not have time for cooking healthy food as they did before. These are my reasons for why I believe that in the past, people ate food that was better for their health than they do today.