Imagine that you are planning to take a vacation and are trying to decide between two places to visit. Which of these two options do you believe would give you better information about making your choice? Why?

1- Reading about the places online

2-Discussing them with someone you know who has visited both places

For each traveler, it is essential to get some information about places where he/she wants to go on vacation. Most people prefer to get this information by reading online or discussing with someone who visited these places. In my opinion, the information gained from reading online is more useful. It is because of getting information through reading online guarantees that your information is up to date and comprehensive. Moreover, the authenticity of gained information through this way is more than another way. My reasons are explained in detail hereunder.

First of all, if the information that you get isn't up to date, then it may take you away from the right decision. In other words, the information that is related to the long past doesn't give you an appropriate view. As a result, it doesn't lead you towards the best decision. My personal experience is a good example of this. Three years ago I went to Masal on my vacation. Masal is a tourist city in the north of Iran. I have experienced great moments in there. Masal had a fantastic hotel with a special view of the forest. Also, it was so easy to access because it has a straight flight from Tehran where I am living. Last week my friend asked me for some information about Masal and I said to him all that I have known. He and his family decided to go to Masal for vacation based on the information that I gave him. Today I saw him again and he was so angry with me. He told me last year the forest of Masal fired and there is no forest in there anymore. In addition, because there are not enough passengers, the hotel was closed and there isn’t any straight flight to Masal. He thinks I misguide him and his vacation is wasted. All of these happened because my information wasn't up to date.

As the second reason, comprehensive information helps you to make a decision with a better perspective. Put differently, knowing details about your choices might redirect your inclination from one to another. For example, I used to work for a tourism agency. We developed a website about destinations where we gave service to them. People who have some experiences about these tourist destinations write their opinion as a comment under each post. One day a couple came to our agency and after I gave some information about tourist destinations, they asked to reserve two Isfahan's ticket for them. However, I recommended to them to read the website before reserving. After a half hour, they have changed their idea and asked me to reserve two tickets for Shiraz. Because they found out Isfahan's people might don't give the correct address to travelers. Thus, incomplete information might leads us to an inappropriate choice.

Finally, reading different opinions online makes you confident that the gained information is valid. Alternatively stated, when someone states an issue, it might don’t reliable. While, if several people state the same issue you should trust them. For instance, Last year I decided to go to the mountain around our city. My friend warned me that it is so dangerous. He said there are some wild animals around the mountain. I didn't take it seriously and I told myself maybe he is a coward. I prepared all the things that I need. However, I told myself it doesn’t disadvantage to check the internet. I checked it out and I saw several comments that warned about wild animals in the mountain. Consequently, I changed my mind and I stayed at home. Therefore, Reading different ideas online helps us to be ensured about some issues.

To sum up, up to date and comprehensive information that you get through reading online leads you to the right decision. Also, the validity of such information makes you confident in making the right decision. These are my reasons for why I prefer reading online.