Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own than by people whose views are different from yours.

Awareness of news has an indispensable role in people's lives. That is why they have always been trying to satisfy their curiosity by awareness of events happening in their environment. In this regard, some people prefer to watch or read the news presented by people who have a similar perspective with them. On the other hand, some other people believe in watching the news presented by a different perspective. In my opinion, the news presented by people whose views are different from ours is more important. My reasons are elucidated in detail hereunder.

First of all, the most crucial feature of a news agency is impartiality but they usually prevent publication of the news in contrast with their profit. Therefore, if we focus on some news published by people who have a similar viewpoint with us, we might lose the reality. My personal experience illustrates this issue quite well. I had a presentation at university when I was a student. I should have talked about a political issue. Therefore, I had been watching some news related to that issue for a week before I gave my presentation. Eventually, I gave my presentation based on information that I collected from the news presented by a news agency that had a similar viewpoint with mine. Unfortunately, half of the audience left when I was talking. After that, I found out not only was not my information impartial but also it changed reality. If I had collected my information from a news agency with a different viewpoint with mine I would not have embarrassed in front of the audience.

As the second reason, some news from a different viewpoint helps us to change our insight. In other words, we can find out some various dimensions of an issue and improve our attitude toward it. For example, my nephew loves football. He always followed the news related to his favorite club, Persepolis. However, he only focused on some news presented by a website that was managed by some fans. Once, I suggested him to read some content presented by a website with a different view. Therefore he explored the internet and obtained a lot of information. When he became aware of discrimination from the government between Persepolis and other clubs, he decided to be a fan of the Esteghlal club. Had he not found out such discriminations he couldn’t have decided the right decision.

To sum up, the news presented by people who have different views with ours helps us to be aware of reality. Also, it modifies our decisions on different issues. These are my reasons why I believe that it is more important to follow the news presented by people whose views are different from ours.