Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students do not respect teachers as much as they did in the past.

Teachers have always been trying to teach students in the best way. No one can cast a shadow of doubt on teachers' efforts for the prosperity of students. That is why students should always appreciate them. In this regard, there is a debate among people on whether respect for teachers is decreased among students or not. In my opinion, students do not respect teachers as much as they did before. That is due to a reduction in parent's role for upbringing their children and lack of growth in teachers' salaries. My reasons are elucidated in detail hereunder.

First of all, parents spent more time on the growth of their children in the past in comparison with now. Therefore, children appropriately learned how they should deal with their teachers. In other words, nowadays, both father and mother should work, otherwise, they can't afford living expenses. Consequently, they have less time for upbringing their children. For example, when I was a child, my mother was a housekeeper. She always taught me how I should behave in school and especially with my teachers. Not only did she usually remind me of respect to teachers but also sometimes came to our school and asked them about my behavior. Whereas, my wife and I should work to afford our expenses. We can't spend a lot of time with our son. I don't know how he has grown up. Last time that I talked with my son's teacher he complained to me about my son's behavior. If we had spent more time with my son I would not have been ashamed for his behavior with his teacher.

As the second reason, despite the incredible growth of the inflation rate, teachers' salaries have remained constant. This issue makes teachers disappointed and irresponsible about their duties. When students see their teachers who have not the responsibility, they might do not respect teachers. My friend experience illustrates this issue quite well. He is a teacher in a high school. Last year the inflation rate dramatically increased in Iran. My friend's salary was not enough for his living expenses. Every day, after school, he worked as a taxi driver to earn more money. Therefore, he had not a good motivation to do his job perfectly. All his students had loved him before he faced that economic pressure. But after that, his students didn't respect him like before because he didn't his job so that students expected.

To sum up, nowadays, parents are losing their roles in their child's upbringing. As a result, students don’t behave appropriately with their teachers. Also, in spite of the growth of the inflation rate, teachers' salaries do not have grown so that they deserve and this issue makes them irresponsible. These are my reasons for why I believe that students do not respect teachers like in the past.