Some adults believe that nowadays children’s behavior is worse than children’s behavior was in the past. These adults have suggested three actions that parents can do to help children ages 5-10 behave better (for example by speaking more respectfully to adults or acting more kindly toward others). Which one action that parents can do might have the most positive effect on their children’s behavior? Why?

– limiting the types of television programs and movies their children can watch.

– spending more time talking with their children.

– supervising or monitoring more closely what their children do when they play with their friends.

By and large, parents have perennially been striving to nurture their children in the best way. However, today, children's behavior owing to some neglect from parents is becoming worse in comparison with the past. In this regard, there has been no shortage of debates among parents on whether it is more beneficial to restrict the type of programs and movies that their children can watch or monitor their children's behavior more closely when they play with their friends. Meanwhile, there is a tendency toward the notion that spending more time talking with their children will yield a much more effective outcome. From my vantage point, the most helpful action by parents for improving children's behavioral orientation is to spend more time talking with them. In what follows, two elaborate reasons will vindicate my standpoint.

The first compelling reason corroborating my idea is that children owing to the state of their age try to do some strange actions to get more attention. It is crystal clear that if parents do not give them what they need, their behavior will be more aggressive. Therefore, they will try to earn the attention of individuals who are around them by insulting behavior. It is worth mentioning that by spending more time with children and talking with them about their issues, parents can earn their trust. Consequently, they can better control their children behavior. By way of illustration, when I was in second grade, both my father and my mother worked in a company. They usually left home at 7 Am and came back at 7 pm. They arrived home exhausted, and they only had limited time for eating dinner and then went to sleep. This issue had a profound impact on my behavior. I usually fought with my friends in school; also my teachers always complained to my parents about my behavior. Once, my mother decided to change his work plan and came home sooner. She spent more time with me and helped me to solve my school issues. Not only I had a better feeling about my parents after her decision, but also my insulting behavior eradicated. Had she not decided to change her plan for spending more time with me, I would have continued my inappropriate behavior.

Furthermore, the other mentioned avenues are not practical and plausible. It is undeniable that children ages 5-10 are very curious. If parents don't let them watch some television programs, they absolutely find a way to satisfy their curiosity. Moreover, the ever-increasing expansion of technology provides a lot of improper media for children. Parents by making a limitation for children to watch some television programs might lead them to use these destructive media on the internet. Although parents want to help children to improve their behavior in this manner, the result of such limitations might be even worse. A recent study, conducted at Norway University, reveals that 87 percent of children would not have explored improper websites if their parents had not limited them to watch television programs and movies. It is axiomatic that such children will not behave so that their parents expect.

By perusing the paragraphs above, one can infer the best way for parents to help their children in order to behave better is to spend more time talking with them. For the sake of brevity, a couple of points are worth reiterating: first, parents by applying this way lead children to behave better; Second, make some limitation in the types of television programs leads children to use of destructive content on the internet.