At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus, such as how many hours that the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make these decisions, students almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why?

With students being a very important part of every university, they spend almost all their time in campus. Therefore, it has been widely debated to what degree students are supposed to be involved in making decisions about daily issues. While some argue that experts should be hired to make those decisions like the open hour of library or the menu of the cafeteria, I reckon, however, that students should participate in these decisions, which benefits both the students and the university.

First of all, students are better aware of their own requirements of daily issues. The so-called experts only make decisions based on statistics and their previous experiences. However, there isn’t a standard that applies to all universities, so the decisions must be suitable for the actual situation, which is known by nobody but the students themselves. For example, when it comes to the opening days of library, experts might conclude that there are so many empty seats on Sunday that it is unnecessary to open the library on that day according to the average data of all universities. But actually, students in this particular university happen to be used to go to the library on weekends. Thus, the experts the decision will contradicts the students’ habits.

The second benefit students will get from making these decisions is the ability to make surveys and the experience of being a leader, both of which exert positive effects on the future development of students. To be specific, students in charge can’t make any decision without firstly find the requirements of most people. They have to learn to be fair and stand for the interests of majority. Take the food choice of the cafeteria menu as an example. Students must create a committee to start with, and they encourage their classmates to vote for their likes and dislikes from an as-prepared list of foods. After that, they have to discuss the menu with the university to have it approved. The whole process will teach a student a lot, yet these experiences won’t exist if an irrelevant expert is responsible for the decision.

Finally, the school can also benefit from not hiring experts but recruiting students to make the decision, since they will save a lot of money which would have been used to pay for the works of experts. With this extra money, universities can promote the salaries of professors, increase the investment on scientific research and build more advanced facilities in campus. Admittedly, some decisions of students might not be as financially favorable as those of experts, since they are not clear of the exact expense if their decisions are implemented. However, this cost is not as important as all these benefits mentioned above if students are involved and thus it is worth paying.

Based on the discussions above, it is reasonable to conclude that it will be more agreeable if students are involved in making decisions about daily issues due to the facts that they can have precious experiences and better campus life, while the university may reduce its budgets.