Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past people ate food that was better for their health than they do today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the argument that food in the past was healthier than nowadays. There are three reasons why.

First of all, the lower food processing technique in the past can not extract enough nutrients for people. According to research published by the University of Cambridge in 2017, it indicated that the average number of nutrients which are processed by contemporary machines is over 35% more than in the past century; otherwise, the amount of the nutrient component is over 27% as well. Moreover, other research at the University of Harvard in late 2017 provided evidence to prove that increasing health indexes to people is the consequence of the development of the food industry. The newest technology provides an effective method to extract as many nutrients from food, such as breaking the cell layer to extract the valuable components inside.

In addition, the food variability nowadays is sufficient to support people’s health than old times did. Due to the rapid agricultural development and convenient transport system contemporary, people have many choices for food. As a result, the multiple and plentiful recipes supply sufficient needed substances to people, which is beneficial to each, especially for children and elders. For example, the people living in Spain could buy Chinese fruits in the local market, it is helpful for people to absorb multiple nutrients instantly to avoid some disease.

Furthermore, the unfortunate political situation around the world in the past led most people to suffer in the war; therefore, the lack of food made people have no choice but to reduce the health standard for food because if not they will starve and wait for death. In World War I and World War II, most people living in the slum, most times, the only food for them is dilute milk, coarse flour and other poor food, and these foods cannot support vital needed energy and nutrients for people. A survey which analysed the influence of low-quality food supply during World War I and World II published by the University of Calgary indicated the reducing population is due to the inadequate food supply because of the malnutrition killing people gradually.

To sum up, the food supply nowadays is more nutritious, variable, and abundant than old times, and it is favourable to people's health as well.