TPO-50

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some voices claim that college should educate young people about the history of various subjects as a primary course whatever department they are majoring in. It is such an excellent idea. History should be studied because it is essential to students and to society, and because it harbors beauty. There are many ways to discuss the real functions of the subject-as there are many historical talents and many paths to historical meaning. All definitions of history’s utility, however, rely on two fundamental facts.

To begin with, history helps students to understand better in their studying while providing a storehouse of information about how the change of community, nation, and the world. Interdisciplinary is an especially critical motif for contemporary academia, so the construction of knowledge is multiple and hard to understand if students do not recognize the substantial relationship between historical information and the newest study. For instance, their creation would get into an awkward situation if art students could not find the relationship between New Media Art and the development of art history; although they built a tempting visual image of their artwork, yet the narrative inside is usually barren. The gap between poor storytelling and art history would cause miserable experiences for audiences.

Furthermore, history helps students develop critical thinking skills. The evolution of human history is serpentine; it does not follow a straight line. People have preconceived notions of the past from simple lessons in childhood, and those notions are usually rough. Advanced history courses at universities offer an opportunity for them to rethink the evolution of human history. It provides another perspective for young people considering historical movements which teach them how to criticize the Social, Economic, Religious, Cultural, and so on. How to criticize the Korean War in the last century? There’s no standard answer anymore. Students can learn how to answer the question multiple; for example, to consider external factors from the other powerful countries and internal factors from the deconstruction of the Korean kingdom.

In conclusion, studying History is excellent at developing attributes of life, and it provides youths with curiosity and creativity to understand the world. Therefore, it is crucial for higher education institutions to make history courses obligatory for their students.