TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Friends are one of the precious gifts and such excitement for people could find a buddy sharing the joy together. As the old word implies, “Life without friendship is like the sky without the sun”, maintaining long-term relations is a beautiful bond by all means, but while making new friends is essential to hold an open awareness.

To begin with, making new friends could offer a chance to freshen one’s perspective on the world. Even conserving old relations are excellent for each person; however, meeting a new buddy is valuable. Various perspectives would carry for the duration when communicating with strangers; it is an interesting experience for each. Perhaps some misunderstanding appears later, yet it still provides an opportunity for people to gain another observation of one’s thoughts. No one can predict what occurs follow-up. For example, 2 years ago, I didn’t realize that a stranger who I met on the tour in Seoul will switch my career in the other direction later. We had spent every night discussing our artworks since we met at the exhibition. After this sparkling encounter, it is so fresh for me to know the language translation between Installation Art and the Electronic Game.

In addition, developing a new relationship implies new adventures. Anytime people want to introduce strangers into their lives, a bunch of new experiences will boost up. Someone will come into people's lives and be their best friend later, or maybe someone will be their lover after they understand and be attracted to each other. It is such a lovely story, isn’t it? This tour is like turning on the Pandora box, and no one will know what the follow-up is, it is like a glimmering star in the gloomy night sky, so mysterious and beautiful. For some reason, few people prefer to linger in their comfort zone and do not have the nerve to talk to strangers. The lack of social trust is not merely poor for communities and for each individual as well.

Developing a new friendship with strangers carries several positive results such as expending one’s views and increasing self-confidence, and so on.

Consequently, I object to the argument that the ability to develop a new relationship is useless compared to maintaining a long-term friendship with a small group of people.