TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

For the rapid and high-competitive development of modern society, most parents are busy with their jobs instead of their children. Throughout the last decades, a significant amount of children merely has less time to be with their parents. In 2017, the University of Cambridge surveyed 1,000 families in London, and it just placed a question:” How many times do you spend with your children a week?” Over 65% of people said they only had a day that could accompany their children. This survey indicated a sad social phenomenon - our families today are unfortunate.

How well hardness this treasured time being with kids seems like a thorny question and sturdy enough to make a perfect answer. There’s an argument about the selection of ways to spend time with children. Some voices claim that using this pressured time to have joy with their children, like playing games or something else, is a right way for each; otherwise, others argue it is better to do something relevant to schoolwork. In my opinion, I approve parents should share the time on fun stuff with kids rather than doing something related to school. Because homework cannot shape a person’s life; it is not the only way for people to get wisdom.

Childhood is so short compared with human lifespan. Meanwhile, it does not make sense for parents to waste their family time merely functioning on the schoolwork. Instead, they should build premium memories for their kids in their childhood, like hiking, playing games, and maybe fishing together. Due to these kinds of accompanying behaviors, children could naturally receive the love from their parents; otherwise, these non-utilitarian manner is beneficial to build their self-esteem and self-worth, vital for a fulfilling life. For example, parents spend all their spare time playing board games with kids instead of working with the homework, during this gaming time, children could genuinely enjoy this amusement without under any pressure from school work. As a result, throughout the gaming time, children could communicate well with their parents expressing themselves confidently and comfortably; otherwise, it is an excellent opportunity for parents to teach them to understand, that knowledge does exist anywhere instead of studying in school - gaming could also offer a window for them to chase the wisdom. As Richelle E. Goodrich said, “Life is a puzzle, a riddle, a test, a mystery, a game—whatever challenge you wish to compare it to.”

Furthermore, Tiger Mom is a terrible social problem in China. For this unusual epidemic phenomena, most parents in China merely focus on the results from children’s studies. The reason for them to do anything with kids is in their studies. But schoolwork is not a central value for humans; it would cause horrible consequences for children, like suicide. Four years ago, two young people decided to end their lives and jumped down from my apartment’s rooftop. If parents choose to only focus on schoolwork, it means they are not only hurting kids’ growth and destroying their lives as well.

After analyzing various factors, I believe, having fun together and making quality time with children is vital for each family and a right way for them to have a healthy family dynamic and happy kids.