TPO-45

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The argument claimed that today’s teens should gain the ability of decision-making in their lives rather than over-depended on their parents in the past. Benefiting from the development of ideology in modern society, “personal independence" is the central motif today. In 2017, the University of Cambridge surveyed 1,000 teenagers. It merely had a question: “Do you agree that developing independence is critical to your growth?” Over 75% of those people think well of this question. According to this investigation, even young people themselves believe that standing on their legs is beneficial as well. Independent decision-making has significant profits for young people in all aspects of their growth.

To begin with, making an independent decision could boost youths’ confidence so that children could be more confident to handle issues in their lives. It would help them to have the nerve to take adventures and gain unique experience without waiting for any support or permission from parents to take action and do things. When young people full of confidence make an independent decision, they would learn to take responsibility for their lives, like face stress, solve problems, seek earnings, and so on, both of them would build up the knowledge of them dealing with the unpredictable future.

Furthermore, independent decision-making would develop their personality. As much logic as individuals put into their decisions, their character would affect the way they make a choice; otherwise, it emerges during youth and evolves over their lifetime. Thus, the capacity of decision-making is like a double-edged sword; it does not merely influence people's childhood and penetrates all aspects of their adulthood as well, like their social life, financial arrangement, and so on.

Nevertheless, throughout the last few decades, most children have been overprotected by their parents. All this may create an over-spoiled image of a young person, which might cause some terrible things to happen. If a young person without the capabilities of decision-making themselves, no one can help them away from complicated situations, when they grow into adulthood.

Now, after analyzing various factors, I approve of the thought that youths should have the ability to deal with their lives nor over-rely upon their parents.