Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

How did the governmental financial funding for the arts more influence than supporting athletics events to develop a society even the consequences are not directly visible, such as economic growth and the reducing to the unemployment? The effectiveness of the arts, in fact, would develop broadly among entire perspectives of society from individuals’ awareness to diversified social ecology with a copious texture of communities that have a significant value. It is fair to say that the governments' funding for the arts would be a profitable investment to whatever individuals or communities. In other words, it would have immediate advantages to each corner of society instead of producing a single outcome as athletic events do. There are two reasons written down below.

To start with, it would broaden citizens’ awareness to optimise their behaviours and become civilised, further shaping the society toward more enlightened. In early 2018, Oxford University published a study report on the association between the arts’ government-funded infrastructures and the level of civilisation of a community. It indicated the fact that a neighbourhood which has a more significant amount of funds to construct relevant institutions, galleries, and events, result in the more harmonious balance of communicating among diverse social classes and guide the more enlightened attitudes about conflicted problems like gender, race, and multiple cultures blending. One of the notable cases mentioned in the study is known as Superkilen Park project in Denmark designed by the arts group Superflex. Denmark government intended to improve the tensive presence of the social classes’ gaps and conflicts through an art urban design project including a long-line park, several public art spaces, art fairs, and so on. Therefore, through the art education from the project, the residents from various races and groups have learnt how to artistic express their voices and genuinely understand the others’ appeals, especially cultivating their awareness and behaviours to autonomy their community better. The investigation table illustrated in the study showed that the project had several apparent improvements for local inhabitants' daily life at an extent, like the reducing rate of crimes (such as the conflict between different groups), the enriching kind of assortments of local business, the increasing index of literacy and the level of democracy, and so on. As speculation of society, a famous theory believed that the cognition level of citizens determines the shape and texture (the civilised rank) of a city and decide which a path that a city would be at the future. So, sponsoring the arts is a brilliant decision for governments and would not cause any harm.

Furthermore, even the outcome of the government-funded athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic fairs could help governments to deliver the economic prosperities sooner compare with investing the arts. However, it is an endless money-consuming vortex that governments not only have to build a vast number of sports infrastructures and must feed various sports teams. Moreover, the increased scale and rate of crime during sports’ fairs would bring a cascade of negative results and burdens for societies. It is apparent a worthless loss for governments and individuals, whether the sport-economy is profitable.

As a sum up, for government to sustainably develop a society, funding the arts is more vital than sponsoring the athletics. Therefore, I approve the agreement that governments should spend more money on the arts instead of sports.