TPO-45Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and exampl

Over the last few decades, many things in the world have changed which have greatly impacted our lives such that our current lifestyle differs from the lifestyle of our parents in many aspects. One of the paramount aspects is independence which many people believe that today's young people are not much dependent on their parents like the past and they make important decisions by themselves. I strongly agree with this statement regarding children become more independent than before due to two compelling reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

First and foremost, in recent years, educational systems have changed a lot and try to prepare children to real life, one of the utmost topics which student learn about in the school is independence, children taught how to make a decision and consider the positive and negative aspects of their decisions. The children also taught by the school about how to work and earn some money furthermore how to manage their money in the young age in order to prevent from being embroiled into financial crises due to the difficulty which they will experience in the future.

Another interesting point which deserves some word is that self-confidence is another prominent reasons which make people feel positive about themselves and take risks on their lives by making their own decisions.

Another significant point which should take into consideration is that in past people preferred to live in a joint family where all member of the family such as parents, children, and grandparents lived with harmony and peace under the one roof, one the other hand these days the culture of living nuclear is much more common. This culture has deleterious effects on children’s decision so that in time of making a prompt decision none of the members of the family exist around the child so he/she has to make the decision by himself. For example, when I graduated from the high school I hesitated between civil engineer and architecture, therefore, I ended up with a civil engineer so after a while I really hate that major because I didn’t consult with my family. If I had asked my family to help me with this decision, I would never have been experienced terrible things.

Due to the aforementioned discussion explored in the previous statements, although parents are the main role model of their children and children are more influenced by their parents but they are more likely to make their decision by themselves.