Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

How does the governmental financial funding for public transportation more influence than supporting Internet server to advance a society even the consequences are not directly visible, such as high Internet speed and a convenient way of searching information? The effectiveness of the well-developed transportation system, in fact, would not only accelerate economic development and strengthen culture communications. It is fair to say that the expenditure on public transportation would be a profitable investment for whatever individuals and communities. In other words, it would have immediate advantages to each corner of society instead of producing a relatively limited outcome as Internet serves do. There are two reasons written down below.

To start with, it would broaden the range of commercial transactions and provide elevated working positions, further boosting the society toward more wealthy. In early 2018, Oxford University published an investigation about the association between the scale of public transportation and the index of economic development, based on the analysis of the Japanese railroad system which is also called JR. It indicated the fact that a city which has a more significant amount of funds to improve public transportations result in the higher rates of economic growth. One of the notable cases mentioned in the investigation is the comparison between the modern capital Tokyo and the ancient capital Kyoto, and both cities are the central transfer station on JR line. The different scale of the public traffic system, however, cause opposite economic results. Tokyo, one of the global commercial centres with thirteen lines covering the entire city from the suburb to the city centre, it attracts many investors to establish their company there and provide a vast amount of working positions in the same breath. Kyoto, in contrast, only with two metro line, it is no surprise, therefore, that its annual economic aggregate is lower than Tokyo. Empty City effect, a well-known social phenomenon in Japan, as the result by the lack of traffic system development that nearly all labour forces gather in Tokyo but merely few youths work in the surrounding cities (like Yokohama and Yokosuka) and Kyoto also, which is the main factor to weaken and barricade the economic growth of those cities. It is no astonishing that such vast differentiate consequences caused by the level of public transportation development. During the first industrial revolution, the first underground metro line was constructed in London which had supplied many working and investment opportunities and the metro line transported labour forces to shuttle between different areas that at some extent had encouraged the economic growth. Some of the have-nots who profited by the new metro system, hence, left the slum and had become the middle class. So, sporting the funds to advance public transportation is a brilliant decision for governments and would not cause any harm.

Furthermore, even the development of science and technology has come to penetrate all aspects of individuals’ life and develop economic growth. It does still no make sense for governments to waste an enormous amount of money to establish various equipment. Moreover, its sequence amount of economic benefit compares with public traffic system is quite small. It is apparent worthless for governments.

As a sum up, for government to sustainably develop a society, funding to improve public transportation is more vital than sponsoring Internet access. Therefore, I approve the agreement that governments should spend more money on the transportation system instead of Internet entrance.