Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

The effectiveness and outcomes of funding the arts, in fact, deliver a significant amount of profits and success among entire perspectives of society from individuals to communities for governments. Throughout human history, the arts play a vital role as the most efficient politics tools helping governments to maintain the harmonious balance of society. For instance, in the mid-twentieth century, various government-funded artworks, groups, and institutions emerged to alleviate the post-war depression and anxiety within the nation in the United States. Experiment in Arts and Technology, one of the prestigious government-funded art projects also known as E.A.T. exhibited enormously artworks of the combination of art and science and is successful at the same breath that smoothed citizens' fears to those giant machines which are a symbol as war. Nine nights theatre, an experimental art project organised by E.A.T. in 1966 is one of the successful events of propagandising the new public value and relieving the social turmoil for the United States' government. At some extent, these artworks fusing with the violence symbol and the humanism symbol alleviated the social anxieties of anti-war sentiment for most American people in the period. Governments' savage impression in publics' mind, therefore, gradually soften. Moreover, the golden age of 1970s and 1980s began with this transmutation which is an apparent butterfly effect that the arts softened the crack between the government and the public at first and then spread the range of its positive impact to every aspect of society. Based on this case, it is fair to say that supporting the arts is a brilliant and efficient decision for governments to improve social conditions.

On the other hand, even if athletics fairs such as state-sponsored Olympic fairs helps governments to deliver the economic prosperities sooner compared to the government-funded arts events, it is the aestheticisation of violence glorified the brutal competition. These competing behaviours would further catalysis the violent impulse of individual and then upgrade to collective violence disturbing the social stability. Various social acts of violence took place around the world during the World Cup in Russia this year. For example, dozens of fans conflicted with each other on the streets of London after England's loss. It is a worthless result for both the public and governments, which would lead to considerable turmoil in society. Furthermore, as the end of a sports fair, the mirage of the economic growth would gradually disappear, and many relative stadiums and buildings would be abandoned and idle, which would cause economic damage.

Thus, it is undoubted that sponsoring the arts is the most efficient means and the most profitable investment for governments from maintaining social stability to steading economy growth.