You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or club. Do you agree or disagree that a person’s honesty is the most important thing to consider in deciding whom to vote for? Use reasons and examples to support your position.

Throughout history, leadership and choosing the best person as leader has played a prominent role in all societies, Due to its paramount importance effect on a society destination. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is which character can manage better as a leader for a group or society. Some people may hold the view that honesty is the most important property of a leader. However, some others may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that some other things -such as emotion control, crisis management ability and etc.- are more important. In my perspective, there is some ability and property that is more important than honesty. I firmly believe that honesty is not the most important thing to consider for choosing a leader. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the properties which a leader should have, are very various. If we assume and compare a club or organization with an honest leader but not smart with a club that has a smart leader, I personally think the second one will be better in long time. For example, I know a sport club that had a manager, who was really honest but not enough smart and then, in crisis situations that usually happens for every sport clubs, he couldn't decide well lonely and finally, he decided to resign himself.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that the honesty is not a property that we can measure. Thus, the problem with this property is how we can find that a person is honest or not. I believe that the honesty is essential for a leader but we cannot measure it.

On the other hand, when a person has been chosen as a leader for a group, it is possible that his or her character to be changed over time. For example, I can remember when one of my friends had chosen as head of a team for doing a project in high school, his character changed from a nice person to a serious one. Thus, it is possible that if a person is honest before leadership, would have been dishonest after that.

In conclusion I think that there is some important and necessary property that a leader should have and honesty is one of them, but this is my deep belief that honesty is not the most important of them. Consequently, I highly suggest that in voting to a person for leadership of a group such as student club, we should have more concern in management ability than honesty.