Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour.

Therefore working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree.

In modern era, improvement and advancement in the technology and automation is well known by people. Nowadays, less time is required to perform any difficult task. These days, there is an ongoing debate that working hours should be reduced as advancement in technology has reduced the time required to do the job. In this essay, I will discuss my point of view by giving supportive examples.

Businessman claims that employees should spend same amount of time which was spent before the technology era. Before technology time it was an industrial era, in which employees were required to do hard work and to spend around twelve hours a days. For instance, a study done in United Nations, revealed that employees daily working hours before 1980 were approximately twelve hours a day. Therefore, now as the technology advancement is seen on its verge the working hours should be reduced.

Similarly, reducing working hours will have significant impact on the health of people. Employees will have better social, mental and physical health. For example, a survey done in early 21st century showed that people who spend less working hours are happier and enjoying healthy life. Hence, the businessmen, government institutes and other organizations should think seriously about reducing the working hours.

In a nutshell, with the development in the technology and automation, the time to perform various projects is reduced. Thus, working hours should be decreased. The essay discussed the main advantage of reducing working hours and the reason why it is not changed until now.