Advantages & Disadvantages of Cashless Society

Since early days of human civilizations, money has been used more than often to transact one commodity with another. Cash is one form, which is anonymous and highly popular throughout the history. However, in modern world with technologies like digital transactions and bitcoin, cash is on its way to finally rest peacefully. Some opponents suggest that cash has its own benefits while proponents are of different and rather progressive view. This essay, before concluding, would state few arguments supported by examples to address issue.

Firstly, transactions carried out with cash or papers of bank notes are anonymous while transactions executed digitally, over the internet are tracked, recorded and often revealed by the middle agencies. For example, records of any transaction carried out with debit cards are available for authorities to use in whatever way it would be required. This is a clear advantage over cash in terms of documentation.

Secondly, digital transactions are not limited to the available denominations of bank notes available with the transacting parties. Whereas, cash transactions often tend to leave people searching for ways to settle a smaller value where one party presents are higher denomination bank notes. For instance, while purchasing an item of one-rupee using five-rupee note is going to ask the other party to return remaining amount in form of four one-rupee notes as no other denomination is available.

In conclusion, the benefits of digital transactions outweigh the benefits of cash transactions. Moreover, modern world's progress towards cashless society is inevitable and indispensable. Truly, this is one more way that humans are benefitting from technology of internet.