Although many people think that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are entirely harmless, in fact, they actually prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

State your opinion and support it with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Recently, topical issue of luxury lifestyle has provoked a heated debate. Although objected by many, it is a widely held view that this lifestyle can develop self-sufficient and active individuals. Providing further statistics, I will present a convincing argument before reaching a logical conclusion.

From a socioeconomic standpoint, the alarming trend of financial accumulation may commonly breed strong greed. This feeling emerges essentially because the more people earn, the more they feel inadequate, and the more they strive to hoard materials, which further enslave them. Had there been less materialistic society, the generality of people could have relished the prospects of simple, yet enjoyable, lives. As a few notable examples of such Mammon, the avarice for luxurious automobiles, extravagant clothes, and fancy parties or trips, amongst youths, can be cited.

Furthermore, without the slight doubt, the care-free attitude of people attributes principally to this extravagant lifestyle, in that people tend to become indolent. Not only will people be disincentivized from making progress educationally, but they also will progressively become inactive and self-centered persons, while being dismissive of others and ethical values. The concrete evidence of the desire for wealth derives originally from an extensive survey conducted in Norway in 2016, with establishing a particularly close correlation between the material abundance and antisocial behavior patterns.

In conclusion, the prevalence of materialism seems bound up inextricably with present-day lifestyles in culture and may create antisocial habits as long as they are not appropriately modified. Thus, it is my main contention that current shift in values would on no account bring about self-sufficient as well as robust personalities. However, it seems that the further we research, the more we discover, with the benefit of hindsight.