As cities expanding, some people claim government should look forward creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building More roads for vehicle owning population. What is your opinion? Give some examples or experience to support.

There is no doubt that people want the fastest and convenient transportation in recent days. Some people believe that the government should be creating better networks of public transportation, whereas others think that the government should be building more roads for vehicle owning population. In my opinion, I strongly believe that a better networks of public transportation are better than building roads, which can be supported by the reasons as follows.

The first and important reason of this argument is that using public transportation can decrease air pollution for a city. To more specific, public transportation always uses electronic energy and decrease the emission of carbon dioxide. For example, this can be established by a recent study by Preston University which founded that 76% of people think an efficient public transportation system is good for air quality.

Secondly, people don’t worry about traffic jams when they take public transportation, such as the subway and train. In other words, the traffic problems will be improved if people are more likely to choose public transportations as fewer private cars are on the road. For example, with the improvement of the public transportations system in Beijing, which directly decreased 60% of traffic jams rate in this city. In this regard, more and more people are willing to choose to take public transportation rather than private cars.

In conclusion, with all the points above, I think the government needs creating a good public transportation system rather than building more roads. In this regard, it is important that governments should devote funding and improve the situation.