Computer technology has had more of a negative than a positive impact on society

How far do you agree with this statement? Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience.

Nowadays computers have become a part of our lives and the work it covers cannot be replaced by any other machine. Some argued that the impacts of computer technology on society are more negative than positive. Here I’m going to discuss my opinions on above matter.

To begin with, few decades ago almost all the work was done by manual. Although there were computers but, they were not very much user friendly. The other problem was lack of technological people who were capable of handling computers. Hence computers were not very much popular in that period. But with the development of technology now it has become a part of our lives. Most of the highly usable functions are now computerized including banks, education, medical treatments and so on.

Furthermore computers have a lot of positive effects on society. Firstly, it enhances the efficiency of all work such as no queues in banks etc. On the other hand it reduces number of files especially in government offices. Moreover, with the internet facility computers give the opportunity for students gain knowledge without reading numbers of pages.

In contrast, computers make human life more complicated and artificial. Children are now addicted to virtual computer games, so that they don’t like playing outside games. This will affect their physical fitness badly. Most people are now refused to read books because, they can find whatever they want by a minute. Finally because of computers, most of the employment opportunities are decreasing which is now becoming a huge problem.

To conclude computer technology has both pros and cones. But I think if the user knows it’s limits it has more benefits than negative effects.