Do you think consumer should avoid over packed products or it is responsibility of producer to avoid extra packaging of products?” Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

Packages products can be found in our daily lives, some may have it more than others. While the reason can be different, this overuse of material is far from ended. Some people would argue that consumers should avoid it while others pointing fingers as producer responsibility. It is felt that producers should play a more pivotal role in this situation, especially with the growing range of products found in society these days.

To commence with, producers use packaging to deliver their product to customers and to keep it in a good condition. It can be seen as necessary to reduce their packaging content, as this would lead in reducing cost. For example, fast food companies like McDonalds have been using a less plastic bag for their takeaway meal. This has reduced their costs by a staggering 30% compared to the year before. As a result, by diminishing their material, companies can actually save substantial money from this activity.

Furthermore, manufacturers can reduce their carbon footprint by using recycled material. To cite an example, local milk factory Meiji has been using a recycled cartoon in their packaging. A positive benefit from using recycled material is how it can reduce environmental waste by 15% when compared to a non-recycled material. This example can show how companies have a direct influence in going green.

In recapitulation, after analysing both aspects of benefit, it is felt strong that manufacturers have more responsibility in reducing container. It is hoped that someday all companies would understand the liability and negative aspect from over using material container.