Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

Student's performance assessed by the formal written examinations is the most vital way among all other assessments. While in the past there was the only written examination to judge the student's knowledge but in contemporary times there are numerous ways. This essay will discuss why written assessment is an effective method of analysing students performance. The following paragraphs will explain both, the advantages and demerits of the stance taken with the pertinent aspects and examples.

There are myriad of reasons which proponents cite for the popularity of written examination. One of the most preponderant reasons is that formal exams not only help to analyse the student's writing skills, but also analytical and presentation skills that further benefitted them in their career growth. To elaborate, according to a recent study by Stanford University, it is evident that 70% of students have strong analytical and decision-making skills who go through the written assessment. Therefore, it is apparent that the most operative way for performance assessment is the written examination.

On contrary, there is another stratum of society who believes that written assessment is only putting pressure on students. Students in the rush of getting higher marks come under pressure that can even lead to detrimental health issues. To exemplify, in a recent study by Times of India, every year 10 out of 100 commits suicide because of scoring less. Hence, not only it put pressure on students but also affecting their mental conditions.

In conclusion, there are many approaches to address students performance but the most common one is the formal written assessment. In my opinion, the merits overweigh the disadvantages of written assessment. Lastly, parents and the social pressure is affecting them but the situation can be improved with the help of regular counselling of parents and students.