‘Schools should prepare students for university, rather than for work.’ How far do you agree with the statements? Support your point of view with reasons and / or examples from your own experience or observations

Schooling is of paramount importance in an individual's life. These days there is an ongoing debate between people, whether the schools should prepare their students for university or helping them to get the work. While it possible to claim that the university education provides good knowledge and better future but school is the foundation of their knowledge and career. The following paragraphs will explain both the advantages and demerits of stance taken with pertinent aspects and examples.

There are myriad of reasons which proponents cite for the advantages of preparing students for work right from the school. One of the most important reasons is that in today's competitive world, it is advantageous to learn the skill which will make one self employable at an early age and helping hand in his family. To elaborate, introductory courses on computer programming or electronic devices circuit which are now part of daily life will not only enable them to fix them but also make them employable. Hence, it is apparent that the school should also focus on practical experience as well as study.

Those who argue for university education have a different view and say that it can actually be a good thing.Firstly, it is claimed that higher educated students have more intellectual level and they can contribute more on innovations and designing of new ideas. For example, one of the most famous car company called Tesla is famous for its unique design and most high technology car that run only on electric without any consumption of fuels, so such type of design is not possible without the highly qualified persons. Therefore, these types of companies are very limited as compared with services based companies.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that schools should prepare students for work because it will make them employable as well as skilled worker.