do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

These days there is a debate among members of society about the performance of formal written examinations. I believe that although these types of assessments possess a key point in our education system, there are other types of examinations which would improve the educational system.

To begin with, it is an indispensable fact that these types of assessments are not able to measure all kinds of talents in students. This is attributed to the fact that a myriad of other abilities exist which cannot be assesses by a single exam at the end of the semester such as team work or leadership. In order to improve and assess these skills, didactic as well as recreational activities should be conducted to assess these skills of students during the semester, and provide the society with more skillful graduated students.

In addition, the assessment of students during the semester would decrease the amount of stress on students during an exam. They would be more relaxed if knowing that this single exam would not determine their destination, and also it would be more fair to them since in the old system if a pupil gets sick at the time of the exam, there will not be any other chances for him to get the required score.

To recapitulate, I strongly am of the opinion that the old methods of formal assessments with written examinations would not be a perfect way of assessment.