Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

These days, there is an ongoing debate among people about formal written examinations and its legibility to test the knowledge at school. While it is possible to claim that having practical knowledge more important; however, many people believe formal written exams are essential to grade a student at the school. In this essay, I shall explain both positive and negative impacts of written examinations followed by a rational conclusion.

At the outset, there are many reasons why written exams act as a traditional method of assessing knowledge at school. One of them is that it’s been there for centuries and only accepted method of formal knowledge testing method. Moreover, some students tend to comfortable sitting for a formal exam than a practical test. Despite the fact that practical exams involve teamwork, formal written exams are more of an individual test. For an instance, based on an article published by a world-leading education researcher, it is revealed that formal examinations require more practice than a practical exam. Yet, more teachers prefer to hold written exams.

Nevertheless, those who argue for written exams, have a different view and say that practical exams provide real-life exposure. With respect to leading research conducted at Harvard University, it is revealed that practical assessing methods are much effective than traditional written exams. As per the research, neither teachers nor students agreed to change the method of evaluation. Therefore, it is advisable to adopt practical exams in school syllabus.

While there are strong arguments to support both sides of the case, but my opinion is formal written examinations have less importance when it comes to accessing knowledge at school. I would strongly recommend teachers to adopt practical exams to strengthen soft skills of students.