Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

Formal written exams are set of predefined questioners which do not assure to test the full potential of student's knowledge at school. While some might agree with the formal examination pattern followed to access student's knowledge in the school. I believe, judging a student knowledge with formal written examination would not be fair. We will further discuss the flaws in the formal written examination and the reason why it is not capable of accessing knowledge in the school.

Firstly, with a set of the specific questioner that formal written exams provide to assess the skills of an individual at school do not assure the diversity of knowledge an individual might have acquired. As the set of the question could be found repetitive and one can memorize the set of answer, it is hard to assess knowledge one might possess in real. Furthermore, as humans are diverse, everyone has their own level of capabilities to understand and acquire knowledge, therefore, judging knowledge based on a formal set of written examination which is set common to everyone would not yield proper result.

Secondly, As humans are diverse species, every single individual has their own skills and understanding level. It is necessary to treat the student differently and need to get assessed for their knowledge individually. For example, one might know more about a certain topic than others as formal written examination doesn't bother about the level of knowledge a student might possess. This clearly states its flaws in assessing knowledge at school.

To conclude, formal written examinations are not the preferred way of assessing knowledge at school because it does not assure to test knowledge of an individual student.