Formal examination are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. What is your opinion ?

In recent years, whether formal examinations are the only effective way to access a student’s performance sparked heated debate. Although such a topic is contested by many, it is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that formal exams are not the only way to measure students’ proficiency.

To begin with, there are several reasons why continual assessments such as coursework and projects are essential to count student's abilities. One of them is that by using these types of exercises students get knowledge of the use of theories rationally. For example, some students have only theoretical knowledge of different topics, but when they did projects or coursework on related topics, it gives them knowledge of how to use those terms practically.

On the other hand, some people argued that formal tests are the only way to know a student's understanding. They have a different view and say that it can be a good thing. First thing it is claimed that it is a comprehensive and easy way to measure student's knowledge. Moreover, students can also give attention to their studies by formal exam. According to the survey held by the University of South Australia, 79% of the graduate students passed through regular exams have full knowledge of the specified field.

In conclusion, according to the above points, formal examinations and Practical activities are plays a significant role in the education of students. Both viewpoints are very important in my opinion.