Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

The examination system has been a controversial issue among all academic societies. While many people think progressive assessment is the only way to gain the exact results, others hold an opponent view and support formal examination. This essay will examine both sides by providing some academic evidences before logical concluding.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some people support continual assessing. First and foremost, they tend to believe that student’s evaluation plays a pivotal role in their future career and development. Secondly, they use an essential valid logic to say that traditional system could lead to increasing anxiety in elementary school student and they could not show their real ability and best output in constrained exam. According to academic research conducted by Tokyo Medical University, those children below 10 who participated in written exam research, usually faced with confusion and stress more than other classmate who involved in continual assessment. Furthermore, a single written examination may not cover all their talent and skills in a strict time.

On the other hand, progressive assessment may have some negative aspect and usual testing system could provide equal opportunity to every student to show their real caliber. In addition, they have the same amount of time and resources, and it could help teachers to filter hard workers eventually. Besides, all examination papers were provided under supervision of a reliable invigilator on the institute. From my own experience, it could be encouraging when you compared with others.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that, although some people support the idea of progressive evaluation instead of formal examination, I inclined to believe that traditional system still could be beneficial to show the real grasping power of every student equally and fairly. However, the combination of both methods could be useful too.