International travel and tourism makes people prejudiced rather than broad minded. what are causes and what measures can be taken to solve this problem

The importance of international travel and tourism makes people prejudiced rather than broad-minded was always a debatable topic. Many people state that international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. The following essay would further elaborate causes of this situation and suggest some ways forward.

To start with, the most important reason why some are opposed to international tourists is that tourists may unknowingly show disrespect for local culture. For instance, we generally cover our heads in a religious place. A tourist from other country may not follow our culture or take his shoes inside a temple. This may offend local people. Sometimes, youngsters may be attracted towards western culture which the tourist bring with them and many local people feel threat to their culture.

Moreover, the tourist dollar may not be helping local people. We all know visitors stay in five star hotels and enjoy the best facilities in the hotel. They may take two times shower in a day whereas the local people may not have enough water to drink. This case has been seen in Shimla which is a very popular tourist area in Himachal Pradesh. On top of that, tourists buy local items from people at very low cost by bargaining a lot. The poor people, who look up for visitors end up with earning minimum amount. Finally, tourist end up with pollution, which helps nobody.

The solutions for this problem are not simple. We cannot discourage tourists and tourism as they are back bone of many economies of the world. First solution is that tour operators should take the onus of guiding tourists about the main things of local culture. Secondly, tourist should stay with locals as paying guest instead of staying in hotels. Local people will earn money and at the same time tourists will know the local culture.

To conclude, international travel and tourism do have a downside to it but many steps can be taken to lessen the negative steps.