It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary. Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Over the last few decades, the popularity of having an extra year before going to university has been growing dramatically. While most people consider this trend as an opportunity to find yourself and defend the path way to the future occupation, many believe it is only a wasting of precious time. this essay will explore pros and cons of this tendency and prove why is is more beneficial.

First and foremost, with the adversment of the Internet, more and more young people face the difficult choice on which their fate depends - the type of occupation and consiquently the proper university to gain it. Thus taking extra year after school to understand yourself and your goals is becoming the most appropriate way. For instance, almost third American is used to spend this time travelling abroad and exploring the world.

However, with the hectic rhythm of life nowadays it could be difficult to keep up with peers. Thus, having a year before university can play a bad joke with future students, especially if you have spent it uselessly.