In many towns and cities, large shopping malls are replacing small local shops. What is your opinion on this? Do you think this is a positive development? Use your own experiences.

These days, with the steady urban development all over the world, replacing small local shops by large shopping malls has become a matter of considerable controversy. Despite widely supported opinion that local shop is usually the heart of community, the comfy place where neighbours meet at weekends, this essay will prove that due to some economical reasons and the better time-management replacing them by malls is mostly a positive development.

To begin with, large city centres normally offer much wider range of products and lower pricing due to wholesale prices from suppliers. Generally, small businesses such as local shops frequently have to rise all prices in their struggling to overcome current economic conditions. For example, the difference between prices on the same bottle of drink water in a local shop and in a mall may be more then AUD 5, which is clearly unfair.

Moreover, the popularity of city centres instead of small shops is still growing because of the significant time saving. Nowadays, people have an exceptional opportunity to buy literally everything in only one place, including even the furniture. For instance, to buy the same products in local shops it would be necessary to spend a couple of days on shopping, which is obviously inappropriate for anyone today.

To summarize, in spite of people's old habits spending some time on local shops, saving precious time, efforts and money make large shopping malls more attractive for many.