Most alcoholics purchase liquor legally. According to your point of view, should stores in general be legally allowed to sell liquor to alcoholics?

There is constant debate whether the liquor store should be legally allowed to sell liquor to alcoholics or liquor store should be prohibited to sell liquor to the alcoholic. This essay will discuss the different aspect of this statement.

Firstly, alcohol store are there to conduct business and earn money and if any alcoholic person who is legally allowed to buy the alcohol then store should sell the liquor to him/her. Secondly, sometimes when the stores denies alcoholic people of the liquor, they resort to the violence. For example, in the Australian city of Darwin there are many cases when an alcoholic person became violent and put himself/herself and the seller in the danger when the seller did not sell him/her alcohol. Therefore, to be safe and conduct business in peaceful manner liquor store should be allowed to sell the liquor legally.

Having said that, selling liquor to an alcoholic person raises a question of ethics on the part of the seller. Selling liquor to the an alcoholic person is unethical because alcoholic person are mentally unstable, unemployed and the money they use are usually stolen from their own house or the neighours. For instance, there are many cases in rural part of Nepal where an alcoholic person steals from their own home to buy liquor and due to which to family member suffers. In addition, the sellers usually knows the source of the money of an alcoholic person and even after knowing that if the sellers sells the liquor then it is unethical.

This esay analysed the two aspects of selling liquor to an alcoholic. I agree that the liquor store should not sell alcohol to an alcoholic person but only to some extent.