One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing, is this a curse or blessing?

The effect of improved medical care, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of advanced medical care has sparked the potential impact of this trend on increased life expectancy. It can be said that it is a boon to humanity, while some people claim otherwise. This essay will elaborate how longer life expectancy can help provide the society with the abundance of experience possessed by old people and how it can lead to unemployment and this will lead to a logical explanation.

At the outset, there are a number of ways in which improved life expectancy can be a boon to the society, but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that longevity allows people to contribute more to the world with their talent and wisdom. For example, most of the radical inventions and discoveries in modern science are triumphed by scientists in their old age, thanks to improved medical care. Furthermore, lawyers, bankers, researchers, politician and many other professionals have a vast experience and can contribute more when compared to the youngsters in their respective fields.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential impact of increased life expectancy, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that it can lead to unemployment. For instance, when people live longer, there will be more people who refuse to retire at an early age. This will lead to unemployment for the young generation. Furthermore, many fresh graduates will not be able to get a job only because experienced old people will hold those positions.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that the role of increased life expectancy in contributing to the society is prominent, although the way it leads to unemployment should be well handled.