As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

The longevity of human life has increased exponentially with the advancement of innovation in the medical field. Many people argue that this advancement has a lot of drawbacks because of the aging population, while the proponents deny and see the advantages in it. This essay will discuss the advantages and demerits of the aging population due to medical advancement.

To begin with, we have treatment and solution for all contemporary diseases which was not there a decade ago. Firstly, a cure for many diseases was found and the source of the disease itself can be eradicated with this advancements. Moreover, sophisticated operations are conducted with the help of artificially intelligent robots which increases the success rate of the procedure. For instance, the medical association of India has declared that they are using Augmented Reality in the medical field to identify the root cause of the problem. Thus, medical innovations and advancement is a boon to humankind.

On the contrary, due to innovative medical treatment, the life-span of humans has increased. As a result, the population of senior citizens will be increased in a country. Furthermore, this possesses an economic threat to the government since the government is spending more amount of money to look after the aged people. For instance, a majority of the population in Canada is estimated to be more than 55 years which creates a huge burden for the government to incur the cost of these citizens. Therefore, an aging population will influence the economy of the country where medical care is free.

In essence, medical advancements have both, its pros and cons. However, in my opinion, the improvement in the medical field is a positive development for the people and it is the responsibility of the government to manage the aging population.