Some people believe that academic subjects such as chemistry, physics, and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recent days, there has been colossal upsurge in the trends to see the prodigies discussing the benefits of having various subjects in schools’ curriculum. Few people believe that academic subjects such as chemistry, physics, and history would bring more advantages, while others completely despise it and maintain a view that practical subjects are more important instead. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the argument to prudently persuade how academic subjects hold more advantages.

On the one hand, there are myriad of merits of having academic subjects in schools. Firstly, these subjects are building blocks for the glittering future of the pupils. In other words, it would be almost impossible for children to comprehend disciplines in their tertiary education without having adequate understanding of these topics. For example, if a student pursues electrical in his university, he would not be able to understand and make the electric circuits without sufficient knowledge of physics. Secondly, some subjects such as history, are essential so that children can appreciate the past of their country. Thus, history, physics and chemistry are indispensable.

On the other hand, practical subjects such as cooking, and mechanics are also critical. To begin with, if any student, somehow, could not join the universities, he can get a job based on his practical experience. For example, he can join a hotel as a chef. Additionally, when a student with hands-on experience in one subject, joins the same discipline in university, he becomes an expert in the subject, which undoubtedly, stands him out of others. Hence, practical exposure is also favourable.

In conclusion, after looking at both sides, I radically believe that theoretical subjects are of utmost importance in the schools. Consequently, I believe that schools should impart knowledge on theoretical subjects to its pupils.