Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Every child has the spirit of competition and other qualities like co-operation, compassion in them and developing these characteristics is in the best interest of individuals and society. When a survival of the fittest is the norm of the day, it is imperative to have the competitive attitude in children in different area of study.

For a start, encouraging children to develop the spirit of competition is advantageous in several ways. Every individual has unique qualities. These qualities come to fore when children enter into competition with each other. In other words, this competition is driven by ambition. Only ambitious people become great achievers in any area of life, as there are several people are engaged in the same profession or activities.

Even though societies make effort to discourage unhealthy competition, only the competent emerge victorious. A good example is that not everyone who studies law becomes a judge, and every student of medicine does not become consultant. In addition, the complexity of life demands children to be competitive, as opportunities and resources become less.

To conclude, children possess several qualities in various degrees. All these qualities are vital for the development of a healthy society. Competition brings best of the children and it must be encouraged.