Does the advent of internet change the role of the teacher? To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that with the advent of computers, the education system and the learning procedure have seen some major changes. Gone are the days of searching through books and making notes on a notebook, we are in an era where every information is just a click away. However, in my opinion, the role of teachers in a student’s life cannot be overshadowed by any technology; it might change but not disappear completely.

Nobody can argue that computers have made learning more interactive, fun and easy. The mere activity of touching and exploring this device constitutes an enjoyable task for a kid. This accompanied with a relaxing environment, interactive software, usually conduce to better grasping of knowledge. For instance, a student learning or cramming the functioning of heart and referring to the 2 D diagrams is less likely to remember a concept than a student who is watching exactly what is happening through videos.

Furthermore, at higher educational level; the online resources such as open universities offering free courses, provide them with an ever accessible source of information, that otherwise would not be at hand.

But, besides the great advantages software offers, the need of human interaction will always be present, at least in the foreseeable future. There is a necessity for a human being to be able to determine what the specifics needs of each individual are. The expertise of a teacher in how to explain and adapt complex concepts to different individuals can hardly be mimicked by a computer, no matter how sophisticated its software is.

To summarize, in my opinion, teachers play and will play a very important role in the classroom, especially at the primary level. The only thing possible is to change how teachers interact, replacing them completely can dampen the education system, no matter how sophisticated the software be.